India tour & travel

Birla Sun temple Gwalior

Sun temple at Gwalior
Gwalior consist of three parts, Murba , Gwalior and Laska. Sun temple is located in Murba Khetra ( area ) . This temple dedicated to sun god is constructed by Gansam Das Birla. Shilanyas ( foundation stone laying or starting of construction ) was done in the 19th jan 1984 and completed in 4 years 4 days on 23rd Jan 1988. Earlier this garden was know as Tapovan garden and after temple construction name changed to Surya Van ( Surya garden ).

This temple constructed in the shape of a chariot there are seven horses four in one side and three in other side depicting 7 days of the week. There are 12 wheels one side and another 12 wheels in other side representing 12 hours of day and 12 hours of night. There are 365 gods around the temple ( for 365 days ) This temple is open in morning 6.30 AM and closes at evening 6 PM. 12 noon to 1 PM temple is closed.

This temple looks more like a Park with gardens and green lawns sorounding the temple. Peacocks are freely moving inside the campus.

It will take 15 minuts by Auto from railway station and you can spend 20 minutes inside the temple complex. Book an Auto for both way for Rs 100/- or Rs 60/ for one way.

Be the first to post comment on this article :

Post Comment

Madhya Pradesh Photo gallery

India Tourism Quiz

Test your knowledge on India by identifying these pictures of famous monuments / tourist places.

India Tourism Quiz ..

free registration for travle business